What is the Bates-Jensen wound assessment scale?
Nursing Home Abuse


The Bates-Jensen Wound Assessment Tool, shortened to ‘BWAT,’ is a test used to monitor bedsores. The BWAT contains 13 items that describe the characteristics of the wound for purposes of categorization and treatment. The characteristics include wound size, depth, edges, undermining, necrotic tissue type, amount of necrotic, granulation and epithelialization tissue, exudate type and amount, surrounding skin color, edema, and induration.

Depending on the level of advancement of the wound, each of the 13 characteristics are provided a number on a sliding scale. A score of 1 indicates the healthiest and 5 indicates the unhealthiest. Once each is scored, the characteristics are added to get a total score. The total BWAT scores are divided into four severity categories:

13–20 = minimal severity

21–30 = mild severity

31–40 = moderate severity

41–65 = extreme severity

If a nursing home assesses a resident as a risk and fails to take the proper preventative techniques, or if the nursing home fails to properly monitor a bedsore or undertake proper treatment, then they may be liable for the injuries and harms caused.

If your loved developed bed sores at a nursing home or assisted living facility, and you are wondering if you have a claim, then please, feel free to call and speak to one of our experienced Georgia nursing home neglect lawyers today. Our consultations are always free. If you would like to learn more about this topic or watch additional videos please subscribe to our YouTube channel.